Pennsylvania DUI laws are designed to prevent drunk and impaired driving. Charges for driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated, otherwise known as DUI and DWI charges, carry serious penalties in Pennsylvania. DUI consequences include fines, drivers license suspensions, ignition interlock systems and other penalties. Getting a DUI may or may not require you to appear in court. Additionally, a DUI or DWI charge may require that you appear in one of Pennsylvania’s treatment courts, where you will be assigned to a mandatory treatment program. If you are charged with DUI offenses in PA, a DUI lawyer can help you through the legal process. Find a DUI attorney here to get started on your case. Continue reading for more information on what happens if you get a DUI in Pennsylvania, the consequences you will face for a DUI and how a lawyer can help build an effective DUI defense for you in court.
Pennsylvania Drunk Driving Information You Need to Know
DUI laws in Pennsylvania currently state that a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or greater constitutes driving under the influence. The laws for DUIs also include different levels of intoxication, each with different penalties. The DUI levels are:
- General Impairment for a BAC reading of .08 to .099 percent.
- High BAC for a reading of .10 to .159 percent.
- Highest BAC for a reading of .16 percent or greater.
When a Pennsylvania law enforcement officer pulls you over on a suspected DUI charge, he or she will issue a BAC test or other sobriety tests to determine whether or not to issue a ticket. If you get a DUI ticket, it will contain information on what you must do next. The officer may also explain the legal steps, if any, that you must take. You should get a DWI lawyer as soon as possible if your ticket states that you are required to appear in court. A drunk driving attorney can help you take all of the proper steps that follow a DUI ticket. Find DUI lawyers in Pennsylvania here. Additional DUI information on the legal process can be found in the sections below.
Pennsylvania DUI Penalties
Consequences for DUIs in Pennsylvania vary depending on whether you are a first-time offender or you have broken DUI laws multiple times. Additionally, the severity of DUI consequences depends on if you have been charged with a General Impairment, High BAC or Highest BAC ticket. Furthermore, penalties for DUIs are higher if you drive a school bus, have a commercial drivers license (CDL), hold a learners permit or are younger than 21 years of age. Finally, DWI consequences are much more severe if you refuse to take a BAC test or other sobriety test when the law enforcement officer asks you to do so.
The Pennsylvania DUI consequences range from fines to limited driving privileges. After getting a DWI or DUI in Pennsylvania, you will face penalties that reflect the severity of your offense. These may include:
- A drivers license suspension that lasts anywhere from one year to 18 months.
- Prison time lasting from five days to five years (for multiple offenses).
- A misdemeanor on your criminal record.
- A fine ranging from $300 to $10,000 or more.
- Court-ordered programs, such as alcohol treatment and alcohol safety driving school.
- An ignition interlock system being installed on your vehicle.
Pennsylvania’s DUI penalties are often severe, even for some first-time offenders. This is intended to prevent more DUI and DWI offenses happening in the future. With lawyer DWI assistance, charges can be minimized or even eliminated. Find a qualified DWI attorney here.
Pennsylvania DUI Information About Alcohol Treatment Courts
Recent DUI laws allow Pennsylvania courts to offer you a chance to receive counseling and treatment for alcohol problems. If you are charged with a DWI, then a court-ordered alcohol treatment program may be required regardless of whether this is your first DUI offense or not. Court-mandated alcohol treatment programs may be seen as a penalty, but these programs are actually designed to help you avoid reoffending. Breaking DWI laws multiple times carries much stricter penalties. Alcohol treatment programs are shown to be highly successful, so it may be in your best interest to participate in a DUI court program. Some DUI charges make it mandatory for you to attend treatment court, but you may wish to see if this is an option even if it is not a requirement. Seek the counsel of a DUI defense lawyer to see what your legal options are after getting charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania. Find drunk driving lawyers or a drug DUI attorney here.
How to Get Help from a DUI Defense Attorney in Pennsylvania
Some drivers may wonder, “Why hire a DUI attorney in Pennsylvania?” especially if they have only committed their first offense. With lawyer DUI assistance, charges may be lessened when you go to court. Forming a DWI defense on your own can be a challenge and you may not have all the tools you need at your disposal. A DWI defense attorney, on the other hand, can build effective DUI defenses for your case.
If you have committed a more serious DUI offense in Pennsylvania, then a criminal DUI lawyer may be able to help you better. A criminal DUI attorney will help you build a case in the event that your charges do not qualify you to attend treatment court to reduce your charges. Find DUI lawyers here to help you with any legal issues you may be facing after receiving a DUI in Pennsylvania.