Pennsylvania drivers education, otherwise called drivers ed, is a requirement for any new driver who wishes to get a drivers license. First time driving school includes both a classroom portion and supervised driving practice. Additionally, a driver safety course enables new drivers to learn the rules of the road before practicing driving. After successfully completing the classroom portion of a driving course, new drivers can apply for an unrestricted drivers license. Furthermore, a learners permit must be acquired before any driver can practice behind-the-wheel training with a parent or driving teacher. When all the requirements for driving lessons have been met, teens may take their road tests for a full drivers license. Many Pennsylvania teen driving school options are available, making it easy to find a program that will teach young drivers the skills they need to learn as state motorists. Below, learn more about driver education options in Pennsylvania, find out what a driving safety course includes and discover how to fulfill the requirements for education courses.
Types of Teen Driving Schools in Pennsylvania
Driving safety courses in Pennsylvania are offered in a number of ways. First, you may take a driver safety course offered by your school district or charter school if this is an option where you live. Second, a teen driving course is often provided by technical schools and universities. Third, private driver training schools are available throughout Pennsylvania. Lastly, taking an online driving course in Pennsylvania is also an option. Once you have taken a driving course in a classroom setting, you can apply for your unrestricted driver’s license. If you have a learners permit, then you can start behind-the-wheeldriving classes at the same institution where you plan to take or have already taken your drivers ed program. You can also practice driving with a parent, guardian or other approved driver who is older than 18 years of age.
Topics Covered in Pennsylvania Teen Driving Courses
Pennsylvania drivers education classes and in-car practice will prepare you for your knowledge tests and road skills tests. A driver safety course will cover topics such as:
- Understanding Pennsylvania’s traffic laws.
- How to operate your vehicle safely.
- The risks of impaired and distracted driving.
- How to drive in any weather condition.
- The rules for owning, registering and insuring vehicles in PA.
Taking Pennsylvania drivers ed, studying the state’s Driver’s Manual and taking drivers education practice tests will help you get a better score on the knowledge and skills tests you must take to get a license in PA.
How many hours of Pennsylvania drivers ed are required?
No matter where you take drivers ed classes in Pennsylvania, you must complete a certain number of classroom hours and driving practice hours to fulfill education requirements. Pennsylvania requires that drivers education programs include 30 hours of classroom lessons. It should be noted that PA driving schools cannot give you more than two hours of classroom lessons per day.
Driving classes can begin once you get a Pennsylvania learners permit. Your driving lessons must include 10 hours of nighttime driving practice and five hours of driving in bad weather. Six hours of practice in a driver education vehicle with a driving instructor may be required, but this depends on your school’s policies. Overall, you must get 65 hours of practice before you can apply for an unrestricted license if you are under the age of 18. It is recommended that driving lessons are restricted to one hour of practice per day. Keep in mind that a learner’s permit does not give you full driving privileges. When completing driver safety lessons, you must be accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, spouse or other adult who is qualified to supervise you.
If you are taking driving classes in Pennsylvania to get a state motorcycle license, then the education requirements vary slightly. Rather than taking a regular drivers ed class, you may take a course through the Pennsylvania Motorcycle Safety Program (PAMSP). Similar to the requirements for other drivers, you must complete at least 65 hours of supervised driving before you can apply for a full license. However, driving classes cannot take place at night, as it is illegal for you to operate a motorcycle at night until you have your full license.
How to Get a License After Taking Pennsylvania Drivers Ed Classes
Once you have successfully completed drivers ed in Pennsylvania, you can move on to the next steps in getting your license. Remember, the classroom portion of drivers education must be completed before you can apply for a full, unrestricted license if you are under 18 years of age. Prior to that, with a learners permit, you must complete the required hours of behind-the-wheel driving and hold your learners permit for six months. You may then apply for a junior license, which gives you more driving privileges than your learner permit. Proof that you have completed a teen driving course must be shown when you apply for your full drivers license. In most cases, you may prove that you have fulfilled the PAdriver education requirements by having a parent, guardian or driving instructor fill out a Parent or Guardian Certification form. If your parent or guardian does not accompany you to the driver license center, then you must have the certification form notarized or it will not be accepted.