Reasons for Pennsylvania Drivers License Suspensions or Revocations
One of the most common reasons for a drivers license suspension in PA is a DUI offense. Second DUI offenses may result in license suspensions up to 12 months. A suspended driver’s license may also result from other traffic violations such as reckless driving or excessive speeding. The PA Point System may help determine whether drivers earn a suspended drivers license or not. If drivers younger than 18 years old receive six or more points on their driver’s licenses, then they face a suspension of at least 90 days. Additional traffic offenses will incur longer suspension periods. For PA drivers older than 18, a drivers license suspension will occur after the second accumulation of six points or when a driver fails a written point exam (www.dot.state.PAus/Public/DVSPubsForms/BDL/BDL%20Fact%20Sheets/fs-ps.pdf). To check drivers license suspension information or the status of a suspension, drivers may access their driving records through the PA Department of Transportation (PennDOT) online (https://apps.PAegov.com/idr). Drivers should check to see if their license is suspended in PA and how many points they have on their licenses if they are concerned about license suspensions. Drivers may also choose to dispute license suspensions if they believe they were wrongly issued.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Pennsylvania License
Drivers may reinstate a revoked drivers license or a suspended drivers license by contacting the PA Department of Transportation. Due to the differing circumstances for driver’s license suspensions and revocations, drivers are reminded that specific drivers license reinstatement information and the steps for attaining a license reinstatement are available in Restoration letters assembled by PennDOT (http://www.dmv.PAgov/Information-Centers/Suspensions/Pages/Restore-Driving-Privilege.aspx). Drivers may request their restoration letters and pay reinstatement fees online. A written notice will also include the date of the incident that caused the license suspension or revocation, how long the suspension will last and any necessary court information like hearing times and appeal deadlines. However, a drivers license reinstatement usually consists of paying fees and waiting for the suspension period to end. If drivers receive license suspensions as a result of the PA Point System, then they may be required to pass Knowledge of Safe Driving Practices, Knowledge of Departmental Sanctions and Knowledge of Related Safety Issues tests to reinstate their suspended licenses (www.dot.state.PAus/Public/DVSPubsForms/BDL/BDL%20Fact%20Sheets/fs-ps.pdf). Once drivers pass these tests, their license suspensions are lifted, but they only have 30 days to take and pass the exams. After a suspended drivers license is restored, five points will be added to the driver’s driving record.
Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License in Pennsylvania
No drivers are permitted to operate motor vehicles without a valid license according to the PA Vehicle Code. If caught driving with suspended licenses in PA, drivers are subject to fines from $200 to $1,000, imprisonment for up to six months or both (http://www.legis.state.PAus/cfdocs/legis/LI/consCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&ttl=75&div=0&chpt=65). Also, if drivers miss their court hearings without paying any drivers license reinstatement fees, they may face additional court penalties and fines. Repeat offenses of driving with suspended licenses may incur fines of at least $1,000 and imprisonment for a minimum of 30 days. Frequent offenders are committing second degree misdemeanors while driving with a suspended license and risk having their licenses revoked or cancelled. Drivers may avoid these penalties by paying reinstatement fees and avoiding driving during their license suspension period.